Being an International Student

Hello, everyone! How are you and what have you been up to? I hope your moving in weekend was fun and you had an amazing time. I got back to England two days ago and finally sorted out my room (and I am so excited to share how it looks next week, yay) so now it’s time to relax!

I flew from Estonia to Germany to England, and I had a four hour layover. During that period I had so much time to (over)think and it made me realize how hard it is for international students. I had to say goodbye to my family, my pets and my friends for months and after such a long and incredible summer it was the hardest thing to do. It’s about all the memories you’ve created and the feelings you’ve felt with these people. Maybe not even people, maybe it’s the places – your bedroom where you cuddled your cat, the living room where you watched some TV with your family and laughed until your stomach hurt, the park you love, the cinema where you dropped your popcorn all over the floor (oops). There are so many places, things and people we get attached to and care about, which is a good thing but sometimes it’s difficult when you know you won’t be able to be at the same spot or talk to the same person face-to-face again for a very long time.

I just wanted to let all my international readers know that you’re not alone. We all feel sad sometimes and it does not get easier over time – you just get more used to it. But it’s okay because caring about something or someone so much means you have something amazing in your life. Be happy about it.

”How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”
Winnie The Pooh

– Helina x

Being an International Student

2 thoughts on “Being an International Student

Leave a Reply

