New Year’s Resolutions: 2017

Hello, everyone! I hope you are well and that you’re making the most out of the New Year. Many people set some resolutions for the New Year to start it off productively. I’ve done it every year but I feel like my resolutions have been way too strict for me to go through with them so this year, so I thought I’d have a different approach. These are my resolutions of 2017:

1. Make my body happy.

People often set goals in order to lose a certain amount of weight, how much muscle they want to gain or how they want to look. Instead of doing that and setting myself unrealistic goals, I find that it is important to focus on what is constantly working on keeping you alive – your body. So what makes our body happy? Giving it what it wants. Yes, it is that simple. I know everyone knows to eat their veggies to keep your body healthy but don’t forget that it is okay to treat yourself sometimes. Sometimes your body will tell you that it simply cannot function any longer without some pizza. It is completely fine. Let your body tell you what it craves and let it have it. But of course, don’t give it all it wants all day every day too! For example, having too much dairy causes spots – so limit your dairy intake for a while. Listen to what your body is telling you and you and your body will be happy.

2. Make my mind happy.

This is incredibly important. You need to have a happy mind in order to achieve anything in your life. It took me a while to realise but I am 100% focused on keeping my mind healthy and happy. Let go of the people that don’t make your life better – if they constantly make you sad and upset, it’s time to not let them affect you in the New Year. This does not mean leaving your friends who are going through a hard time, not at all. If they’re friends who are always there for you too, they are the positive people in your life to keep. Don’t let them go.

Don’t stress yourself out. University and work can be very stressful sometimes. I have days where I feel like I am suffocated by the work and in the end I don’t get anything done because I feel like I cannot even concentrate on the work because of the stress. It is important to know that it is okay to take breaks and have fun even when you have uni work staring at you. I just want to look at my work and actually feel like I’m able to get through it. This is what this year is about.

I hope this blog post inspired you to look at New Year’s resolutions differently. Make yourself happy – both your mind and your body. As long as you’ve done that, you can conquer anything life throws in your way.

Happy 2017!

– Helina x

New Year’s Resolutions: 2017

Leave a Reply

