Feeling Homesick

Lately I’ve been missing home more than anything. I’ve finished university after three years and I’m going on to my masters degree next year. This summer I’m also moving in with my boyfriend and pretty much starting my independent life properly. This is the first summer I haven’t gone back home for the full summer (3 months!) and it feels a bit weird.

I miss my house and the fluffy rug in my room. I miss the massive beanbags my mum made herself (they’re the size of a small room honestly, absolutely MASSIVE). I miss my parents’ pink room and I miss our comfy living room with a fireplace in it. I miss my cat who’s the fluffiest, softest and cuddliest thing in the world. I miss my nephew Kennert who always knows how to put a smile on my face and I miss my nephew Karel who’s just the smallest cutest guy ever and who I have only met twice in my life due to living so far away. I miss my mum who’s the funniest smartest most caring person in the world and I miss my dad who’s the strongest kindest and most supportive person in my life. I miss my brother who makes stupid jokes but is someone I can always count on. I miss my friend Maris who’s always there for me throughout everything and I miss my friend Kaisa who I haven’t seen for months but who always makes me laugh until I cry. I miss all of these people and I miss my home town and the sea and the river being so close to my house. But here’s the thing… These people are still in my life. Although I’ve lived far away for 3 years I know they’re all still there. There for me just like I am still there for them. And I feel so lucky.

Appreciate the people in your life who love you just as much as you love them. These are the people that are going to be there for you through every step of your life, no matter how far you are. If you’re homesick and you miss them, then let them know. They’re only a phone call or a message away.

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.

IMG_8764IMG_9252IMG_09801012132_507355669371077_319620758_n copySAM_1025SAM_1036SAM_1027SAM_1035

– Helina x

Feeling Homesick

Leave a Reply

